Oscar Fashion

I have to say this year’s Academy Awards fashion didn’t blow me away. Though I did find a few standouts, the majority of the actresses I usually look to, were halfway there with their looks. A majority of them were wearing ill fitting gowns, the wrong hairstyle, or just the styling in general was off. I know I know, I sound like a complete downer, and though I may be a little upset because my lack of tv disabled me from watching the Oscars or red carpet at all, I was still just left wanting a little bit more.

My top picks of the evening….

88th Annual Academy Awards - Arrivals

Alicia Vikander in custom Louis Vuitton : The face of Louis Vuitton, Alicia looks stunning in this buttery yellow and crystal encrusted gown. There’s a lot of backlash about this gown looking too Beauty and the Beast, but I love it. It’s a dress that doesn’t take itself too seriously and it really made her stand out amongst the fitted mermaid gowns that are the “traditional Oscar gown”.

saoirse-ronan-full-zoom-bb72a976-f821-4c60-8ca1-75bcab03806e

Saoirse Ronan in Calvin Klein Collection : This color green is one of my favorites to grace the red carpet and looks excellent against Saoirse’s pale complexion. To me, this style was very Amy Adamsesque (I think she wore one or two gowns to previous awards shows very similar to this). Overall, I love it. It’s glamorous yet casual and not too fussy: Oscar perfection.

31A99A3A00000578-3468637-image-m-49_1456706480796

Olivia Munn in Stella McCartney : Olivia Munn has been nailing every red carpet she’s hit lately. I love the sporty, simple fabric of this gown and how the bright tangerine color instantly made this dress a showstopper. Along with her casual hair and fun makeup, this was an  overall winning look for me.

88th Annual Academy Awards - Arrivals

Brie Larson in Gucci : The color of this dress is beautiful. The belt scares me a little bit but other than that I’m sold. I think this was a great dress to wear for the much favored Best Actress Nominee (who won). Also can I just point out that she was mean girl Liz from Sleepover. When I found that out it blew my mind a little bit.

GettyImages-512876824.jpg

Priyanka Chopra in Zuhair Murad : I can’t. get enough. of this dress. It is so delicate and intricately made that it shines on the red carpet. Along with her killer jewelry and gorgeous hair and makeup, Priyanka slayed it for me.

 

Leave a Reply

