Protein Bites

Protein is an essential component to any healthy diet. I have cut my meat consumption drastically in the past couple of months only to realize that shortly after my meals, I am starving. So last week I decided to finally tackle this issue, and come up with a solution.

After some research, I decided to make my own concoction of protein bites using a base of 1 smashed banana, peanut butter, and oats. To that I added chia seeds, shredded coconut,  dates, mini chocolate chips, cinnamon, and non-flavored protein powder.

I like this recipe because it can easily adapt to your likings. For example, you can substitute peanut butter for any other nut butter you like (almond, pumpkin seed, cashew). Or add a finely shredded carrot or apple for more nutrients.

HOW-TO:

Mix together:  Oats, peanut butter, 1 smashed banana, chia seeds, shredded coconut, 2 dates, protein powder, cinnamon and mini chocolate chips.

Cover and chill in refrigerator for 1-2 hours.

Form into bite-sized balls.

Separate into small plastic baggies (I put 2-3 protein balls in each bag) and store in freezer.

Since these are kept in portioned out baggies in the freezer they are great to quickly throw in your purse or lunchbox for on-the-go snacking.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I’m not a big fan of bananas. Could I leave it out, or do you have a good substitution?

    1. Amy Gruntner says:

      You could use applesauce or a smashed pear as a substitute, or just leave that ingredient out altogether.

Leave a Reply

