Film Review: Good Will Hunting (1997)

One of my New Year’s Resolution this year was to take the time to see those classic, must-see films that I have been putting off for years. As a film major, there is nothing I love more than a 1940s black and white film told through a sweeping score, and over-the-top dramatic acting. So, I compiled a list with a variety of films through different decades, and I decided to start here, at Good Will Hunting. 

I know what you’re thinking, “How has she not seen Good Will Hunting?!” Well, we all throw aside the classics for the cheesy rom coms or Oscar nods, and I am certainly no different.

I gave this film a solid 5/5. The acting was brilliant, the art direction, cinematography, casting, editing, the script; they were so many simple decisions made in pre-production that made this film outstanding.

Written by: Matt Damon & Ben Affleck

Directed by: Gus Van Saint

Music by: Danny Elfman

If you enjoyed this film check out more from indie film director Gus Van Saint’s work-Milk and Elephant. Just a disclaimer that Elephant is a super heavy film that deals with a school shooting, it really gets inside your head. I definitely closed my eyes and was crying throughout the entire film while in class but hey, when a film does that you know it’s something special.

Leave a Reply

