5 Tips to Make Moving to a New Place a Little Easier

Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 8.51.22 PM

Three months ago I made the decision to move to Seattle. I will admit, it was on a whim. I had a job, which I quit; I didn’t have a car, so I bought one; and I skipped town. I drove out in three days and hit the ground running. To say I learned a couple of things would be a severe understatement, because moving across several time zones to a place with no friends or family is hard. It’s really hard. But I wouldn’t change a thing about my experience. Yeah, it was tough, grueling at times, but I learned so much about myself, and about others too.

Here’s a list of 5 tips that made my transition into a whole new life a little bit easier:

  1. Don’t settle: Never settle. On an apartment, on a job. Something will come up. In our most desperate of times we settle and that’s when we get burned. As someone who did settle, and got scorched; I can tell you it’s not worth it. Work hard everyday to find a new job that fits you, seek out apartments 24/7, put in the effort.
  2. Give it time: Again, no one ever said moving or starting over was easy. Everything takes time. Plan for extra time at your Airbnb until you find a good apartment. Don’t get discouraged if you’re not partying with friends on your first Friday night there. You’ll get there.
  3. Explore, a lot: In any new city you visit or live, you deserve the right to be a tourist. Explore everything; every nook and cranny in your neighborhood, every well known landmark, every underground jazz club. Your new city is really your first new best friend, so get to know them.
  4. Stick to budget: When moving, and living in a new apartment always have a budget in mind. Buying small appliances, cleaning products, and small decor items can really add up. Buy what you absolutely need first; settle in, and then invest in the other things over time.
  5. Put yourself out there: Making friends in a new city, isn’t easy. It takes work, but once you’re in, you’re in. Really work to become a local. Go to neighborhood lemonade stands, garage sales, or block parties. Volunteer at citywide or community events. Join an adult sports league or book club, it’s a great way to meet people; and BONUS you already have something in common.

 

Leave a Reply

