“Natural” Messy Waves

The hairstyle of the moment is the “I woke up like this” messy do. I, as well as the rest of the world have been working to master this seemingly undone disheveled look. I have found that the two vital components to mastering this look are the right products and technique.

DSC00241

To achieve the look above, I used a 1 1/2 inch curling hair to curl my hair in sections. I prefer using a larger barreled iron to get larger and looser curls.

Next, I used Aveda Defining Whip. Now this product is amazing! It gives your hair a lot of texture, which if you have fine hair like me is a lifesaver. Hair whip is very similar to hair paste in that it is very tacky (think marshmallow fluff) and buildable. These products are great for styling your hair because throughout the day you can continue to mess up your hair and this product will flex to hold that new stye.

Another must have product is sea salt spray. Spritzing your hair with this and then scrunching it into your loose curls will help lock in the shape of the curls and add a natural-looking disheveled look. I’m currently loving Bumble and bumble Surf Spray but I’m looking forward to trying John Frieda’s new Sea Waves Salt Spray because Lauren Conrad convinced me and the price is just too good to pass up.

Lastly, I add more texture and messiness to my hair by taking my thumb and pointer finger and rubbing them together across random bits of hair. This is a great way to work that product in and add extra volume.

What tricks do you use to achieve a messy undone look?

Leave a Reply

