The Olympic Sport that Once Was

As my Olympic obsession continues and grows deeper as the days pass, I decided to dig into old Olympic archives to see what events once were but are no longer participated in. What I’ve come across has changed my Olympic dreams indefinitely.

SKI BALLET – also known as ACROSKI

This event was brought to my attention via a friend through social media and ever since that fateful moment, I’ve been hooked. This is the Olympic Sport I was born to do. From the 80s attire to the pitiful “graceful” ski pole gestures, I was hooked. In the Olympic world this sport is know as a failed Winter Olympic Event. In 1968, U.S. Ski Team captain Suzy Chaffee pioneered ski ballet with a childhood dream of ballet dancing down mountains. Acroski was a competitive sport from the late 1960s to the 2000s and was first introduced to the Olympic stage as a demonstration sport at the 1988 Games in Calgary, Canada, and again at the 1992 Games in Albertville, France.

Without further ado I will formally introduce you to the great sport of Ski Ballet.

http://www.livescience.com/43089-photos-6-failed-winter-olympic-sports.html
http://www.buzzfeed.com/hillaryreinsberg/ski-ballet-is-the-forgotten-olympic-sport-you-need-in-your-l
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ski_Ballet

Leave a Reply

