Let the Games Begin!

Image

It’s Olympic time! For the next 16 days I will do nothing but eat, sleep and breath Olympics. The talent of the Olympic athletes never ceases to amaze me. These events are something that I become very emotionally invested in. My heart breaks when they fall and I scream with delight when they do well. 

I like the Olympics because you can have the TV on all day and watch such a wide variety of sporting events. From curling and luge to figure skating and moguls during the Winter Olympics. And gymnastics to swimming during the Summer Olympics. But most of all, the best part of watching the Olympics is knowing that when I’m sitting down to watch, people all around the world are doing the exact same thing. It’s a sense of connectedness which makes the Olympics so special and unique. 

What am I looking forward to most during the 2014 Sochi Olympics?

Figure Skating.  Man do I love watching figure skating. I think I spend most of the time envying their graceful movements that I will never have. Meryl Davis & Charlie White, Gracie Gold and Polina Edmunds are the skaters I’m most excited to watch this year.

ImageImageImage

Luge.  I really don’t know much about this sport except it is the coolest thing to watch! If I were to ever be in the Winter Olympics I would want to do either Luge or Bobsled. Do I know how to do either of these sports? No, but I am more than willing to learn.

ImageImage

 

Moguls.  This sport really just blows my mind! I have no idea how their knees bounce up and down so fast without breaking; but it looks dang awesome. My all-time favorite mogul athlete is Hannah Kearney.

Image

Who knows, maybe someday I’ll be working for one of the Olympic committees. What a dream that would be.

Leave a Reply

