Spinach Tortellini with Mushroom Sauce and Roasted Vegetables

I have never been that stereotypical college student that dines on frozen dinners or take-out. I enjoy taking an hour away from all the stresses of school, cooking myself a meal and sitting down to enjoy it. This is my second semester living in the home I currently live in and our kitchen is great! But really, just having a kitchen is quite a treat. For the past two years I have lived in dormitories and was in the mundane routine of eating cafeteria food day in and day out. Though I will admit the convenience of cafeteria food was nice and the food was pretty decent. Now, I have to remember to pack a lunch instead of popping into any cafeteria on campus and grabbing food. And remembering things is not my strongpoint, so I fight a daily battle of forgetting food and being too cheap to spend actual money to buy some.

When I cook, I always wing-it. I usually have some idea of what I am craving for dinner that day but I don’t use recipes, measuring tools or even timers. (The whole not using timers for food thing really baffles people and I have never understood why) By the looks of the meal I am about to reveal to you you’re probably thinking, “wow, that’s a lot of veggies and no meat, she must be a vegetarian”. Truth is, no, I am not a vegetarian. The grocery store closest to my house has expensive meat so I usually don’t buy any; but when we make the occasional Target run I’ll usually pick up some chicken or ham. 

This meal is something I made up on the spot and boy was it delicious!

First, I brought a pot of water to a boil then added Spinach Tortellini (this tortellini was from Trader Joe’s and it was so good!). Once the tortellini is floating at the top and is puffed up and soft, you know it’s done.

Image

Second, I chopped some fresh mushrooms and sautéed them in a pan over medium to medium-high heat with milk, salt and pepper until it became sauce like .

ImageImage

Meanwhile, I chopped red potatoes into small cubes, cut fresh brussel sprouts into bite-sized pieces and diced half an onion. I put all the ingredients into a medium-sized bowl and tossed them with olive oil, salt and pepper. Then I poured the seasoned vegetables onto a baking sheet and put them into a 425 degree oven. I baked the vegetables until the potatoes were soft and all of the vegetables were crispy- just how I like them.

Image

 The final product.

Image

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

