Wok it Out

Friends take note, if there is one thing I want as a marriage gift it would be a wok. Don’t get me wrong blenders, food processors and china tea sets will make me quite the happy camper but our wok has stolen my heart. When I say “our wok” I mean the wok my parents received at their wedding.

For those of you who haven’t formally been introduced to a wok, let me do the honors…

Image

Wok: “a versatile round-bottomed cooking vessel originating from Guangdong Province in China. It is one of the most common cooking utensils in China and also used in East and Southeast Asia, as well as becoming a popular niche cooking tool throughout much of the industrialized world.” 

If that description doesn’t sell you on a wok I’m not sure what will.

My favorite part about a wok is that it can be attributed to making delicious Chinese dishes from your very own kitchen! I’m sure woks could make other types of cuisine but I have yet to venture out for those recipes.

I brought our wok out from the depths of the cabinets to cook a delicious, and healthy, Chinese dish for my family.

Image

Recipe BreakdownGarlic Turkey- Broccoli Stir-Fry

  • 2 teaspoons sesame oil, divided
  • 1 (1-pound) turkey tenderloin, cut into thin strips – I have no idea what turkey tenderloin is but I used good ole chicken.
  • 1 cup fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 red bell pepper, cut into thin strips
  • 2 cups fresh broccoli florets
  • 1 (8-ounce) can sliced water chestnuts, drained
  • 2 tablespoons low-sodium soy sauce
  1. Place a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat until hot. Add 1 teaspoon sesame oil to pan, and tilt to coat evenly. Add turkey (chicken), and stir-fry 5 minutes or until turkey (chicken) is no longer pink in center. Remove turkey (chicken), and set aside.
  2. Combine broth and next 4 ingredients in a small bowl; stir until cornstarch dissolves. Set aside.
  3. Add remaining 1 teaspoon oil to pan; add pepper strips and broccoli; stir-fry 1 minute. Add water chestnuts, and stir-fry 30 seconds. Increase heat to high. Stir broth mixture, and add to pan with soy sauce, turkey (chicken), and any accumulated juices. Bring to a boil; cook 1 to 2 minutes or until slightly thickened.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

