Edamame Pesto with Roasted Tomatoes

 DSC03751

In my family, it’s tradition that the one celebrating their birthday gets to pick the dinner we eat as well as the cake. This past weekend we celebrated my mom’s birthday so I was on for dinner. And this year I had a perfect recipe that I knew she would love so I didn’t even ask her what dinner she wanted. But I did let her pick the cake, which is the best part after all.

For dinner I made a delicious pasta dish I had with some girlfriends this past week, Edamame Pesto with Roasted Tomatoes. Just by it’s name you can already imagine how scrumptious this dish is. And it was so easy too! I have never made pesto before and finding a way to make it without a food processor was a challenge, but it turned out well.

DSC03736

Recipe breakdown:

1. For the Pesto:

1 c. Edamame (shelled)

¾ c. Olive oil

Salt

Scallions

Cilantro

Basil

Parmesan – I used mozzarella instead because I prefer the flavor

DSC03727 DSC03723

Ideally this pesto is made in a food processor, but I do not have one so after much trial and error I discovered that a hand immersion blender works just the same. Though the noise really irked my dog it got the job done lickety-split.

2. Heat the Pesto in a pan with ½ pasta water:

I actually made the pesto the night before to cut down on my cook time and I heated it up the next day with ½ cup of the pasta water to bring the pesto to a sauce consistency. I recommend adding the pasta water regardless of when you make to pesto to add another depth of flavor.

DSC03748

3. For the Roasted Tomatoes:

Sautee 2-3 garlic cloves in olive oil

6-7 whole plum tomatoes – fresh or canned (1 can)

Preheat oven to 350

Slice tomatoes in half and put on a baking sheet

Add garlic to the each tomato half

Sprinkle tomatoes with basil, balsamic vinegar and cheese

Bake for 25-30 minutes

4. The Assembly:

Bow Tie Pasta

Pesto

Roasted Tomatoes

Balsamic Vinegar

Grated cheese on top

Best served with garlic bread and red wine

 DSC03739

For cake I made a Martha Stewart Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting, this is definitely a family favorite and after tasting it you will understand why.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

